Awards season

The speculative fiction writing industry is gearing up to recognise some of the best in the business, with numerous awards in various stages of competition.

The horror world’s most respected awards are undoubtedly the Bram Stoker Awards and there are several Australians who have been nominated including my co-collaborator on Witch-Hunts, Rocky Wood for his work Stephen King: A Literary Companion, which is up for a best non-fiction work award. Fellow Witch-Hunts scribe Lisa Morton is also up for an award for her collection Monsters of L.A.

Other Aussie contenders include Kaaron Warren (best short fiction) and Jack Dann (best anthology). For the full list of nominees go HERE. Winners will be announced at the Bram Stoker Awards gala dinner on March 31 in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Meanwhile in Australia, the list of nominees for the Aurealis Awards have been announced and can be viewed HERE. The Awards will be presented at a ceremony in Sydney on May 12.

The 2012 Ditmar Awards, Australia’s most popular speculative fiction awards, are just entering the nomination process, with anyone “active” in the industry able to vote, regardless of what country they’re in.

Both my novella’s “Torment” and “The Noctuary” have made it on the eligibility list in the Best Novella or Novelette category. If you liked my novellas and feel they are deserving of an award, you can vote for them to win by filling out this form. Entries close on Friday April 13, 2012 or Thursday April 12, 2012 for those in Europe or the Americas.

If you do vote for my work then I say thank you.

Good luck to all those in the running in all of these competitions.

About darkscrybe

Two-time international Bram Stoker Award-nominee®*, Greg Chapman is a horror author and artist based in Queensland, Australia. Greg is the author of several novels, novellas and short stories, including his award-nominated debut novel, Hollow House (Omnium Gatherum) and collections, Vaudeville and Other Nightmares (Specul8 Publishing) and This Sublime Darkness and Other Dark Stories (Things in the Well Publications). He is also a horror artist and his first graphic novel Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times, (McFarland & Company) written by authors Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton, won the Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel category at the Bram Stoker Awards® in 2013. He is also the current President of the Australasian Horror Writers Association. Greg lives in Rockhampton with his wife and their two daughters. * Superior Achievement in a First Novel for Hollow House (2016) and Superior Achievement in Short Fiction, for “The Book of Last Words” (2019)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Awards season

  1. Greg Chapman says:


    The 2011 Bram Stoker Awards were announced in Salt Lake City, Utah on Marh 31.

    My colleague on Witch-Hunts, Rocky Wood won the Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction for his book, Stephen King: A Literary Companion! Congratulations Rocky! Well deserved!

    The full list of winners can be foud at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.