Hollow House on Preliminary Ballot for Bram Stoker Awards®

So my little haunted house novel, HOLLOW HOUSE has made the preliminary ballot of the Bram Stoker Awards®.

Hollow HouseWhile this is just the first hurdle in a long and detailed process, it’s humbling to have my debut novel on this list amongst some of the best writers in the horror genre.

Each year, the Horror Writer’s Association presents the Bram Stoker Awards® for Superior Achievement, named in honor of Bram Stoker, author of the seminal horror work, Dracula. The Bram Stoker Awards were instituted immediately after the organization’s incorporation in 1987.

The response to my novel has been very gratifying, with many reviewers and readers taking the time to share their thoughts about the book online, for which I am most grateful. HOLLOW HOUSE even made The Horror Fiction Review’s Top 10 Books of 2016!

Here are just some of the reviews HOLLOW HOUSE has received since it was released last July:



Greg Chapman ‘Hollow House’ Review






At the very least, having HOLLOW HOUSE on the preliminary ballot is a huge encouragement to keep writing. I don’t write full-time (yet), but this will certainly spur me on to keep striving for that goal. Even if I don’t make the final ballot, it’s a pretty big achievement for me, something that’s only just starting to sink in. I’d like to thank Omnium Gatherum publisher Kate Jonez and my editor Janet J Holden for helping me bring my horror novel to life. 🙂

For the full list of authors on the preliminary ballot follow this LINK. I’d like to congratulate everyone on the preliminary ballot and wish them the very best of luck (make sure you go out and buy a copy of their works!) The final ballot is expected to be announced in late February with the winners announced at StokerCon 2017 in April.

Here’s a video interview I did with my local newspaper about HOLLOW HOUSE





About darkscrybe

Two-time international Bram Stoker Award-nominee®*, Greg Chapman is a horror author and artist based in Queensland, Australia. Greg is the author of several novels, novellas and short stories, including his award-nominated debut novel, Hollow House (Omnium Gatherum) and collections, Vaudeville and Other Nightmares (Specul8 Publishing) and This Sublime Darkness and Other Dark Stories (Things in the Well Publications). He is also a horror artist and his first graphic novel Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times, (McFarland & Company) written by authors Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton, won the Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel category at the Bram Stoker Awards® in 2013. He is also the current President of the Australasian Horror Writers Association. Greg lives in Rockhampton with his wife and their two daughters. * Superior Achievement in a First Novel for Hollow House (2016) and Superior Achievement in Short Fiction, for “The Book of Last Words” (2019)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Hollow House on Preliminary Ballot for Bram Stoker Awards®

  1. Pingback: HOLLOW HOUSE a Bram Stoker Award® finalist! | Darkscrybe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.