The Sixth Collection

Hey friends in horror!

I know it’s been a while but I wanted to give you all a sneak peek at my sixth fiction collection, Midnight Masqueradewhich will be published this September by IFWG Publishing! 

Midnight Masquerade will be my sixth fiction collection when it’s released and will contain my novellas “The Last Night of October” and “Vaudeville” and five new short stories on a similar theme – namely Halloween and carvinal-esque horror.

It was a whole lot of fun writing these new stories and I hope readers will like them. 

Multiple Bram Stoker Award-winning author Lisa Morton has also penned a very flattering introduction for the book. She knows me and my fiction far too well!

A snippet of the cover.

If you haven’t read any of my short fiction before you can pick up copies of some of my other collections, including “Vaudeville and Other Nightmares“, “This Sublime Darkness and Other Dark Stories“, or “Bleak Precision

Even though the release is still several months away I have also been hard at work designing the book cover and book trailer. 

These assets are vital for the success of any book release and thankfully I have the right software for the job. 

I’ll be releasing the trailer halfway through the year but I thought I’d share a snippet of what it will look like.

Midnight Masquerade will be a good novel-length-sized book when it’s released and will also include some black-and-white illustrations by yours truly!

Here are the “synopses” for each of the new stories:

Clown-for-hire, Harvey has the worst day of his life

A childhood display of malice is resurrected thirty years later

A priest finds true faith means devotion to blood and pain

Revenge shows Emma what lies beneath her mask of fear

A Halloween expert unleashes her own personal hell

Midnight Masquerade is the first of two collections I’ll have out this year and next, with Black Days and Bloody Nights to follow in late 2024.

I hope you all give it a chance when it’s released – thank you for your continued support!

About darkscrybe

Two-time international Bram Stoker Award-nominee®*, Greg Chapman is a horror author and artist based in Queensland, Australia. Greg is the author of several novels, novellas and short stories, including his award-nominated debut novel, Hollow House (Omnium Gatherum) and collections, Vaudeville and Other Nightmares (Specul8 Publishing) and This Sublime Darkness and Other Dark Stories (Things in the Well Publications). He is also a horror artist and his first graphic novel Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times, (McFarland & Company) written by authors Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton, won the Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel category at the Bram Stoker Awards® in 2013. He is also the current President of the Australasian Horror Writers Association. Greg lives in Rockhampton with his wife and their two daughters. * Superior Achievement in a First Novel for Hollow House (2016) and Superior Achievement in Short Fiction, for “The Book of Last Words” (2019)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sixth Collection

  1. This is such great news! Congratulations. I can’t wait to see the cover. Looking forward to this coming out. 😊

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.